Minutes from previous meeting

Minutes will only be available for the previous meeting on this site.

Seasiders’ Luncheon

April 6, 2017


The Seasiders’ luncheon meeting was held on Thursday, April 6, 2017 at the Palm Beach Shores Community Center.  President Joan Reilly called the meeting to order at 11:16 a.m.  There were 67 members and 8 guests present.  After the pledge, guests were introduced and the April birthday was recognized.  The minutes of the last meeting were read and approved.


The following reports were given:

First Vice President Pat Bishop for newsletter, Second Vice President Ingrid DeFusco for nametags, and Corresponding Secretary Georgette Kauhane for reservations.


The following committee reports were given:

Dot Erickson for Book Club and for the hands project which raised $1,245.00, Elaine Susany for Four Arts, Cathy Breeze for Fellowship, reporting that former Seasider Louise Riedel had passed away, Alice Sirl reported for Social, Janet Kortenhaus for Community Service, Irene VanSoelen for cards, and Cathy Sommers for Club Hostess, reporting on the Tasters Luncheon scheduled for Wednesday, April 12th.  President Joan reminded members that the club hostess positions would  need to be filled for next season as both Cathy and Carol Pirro would be stepping down.


Fashion Show Co-chair Eileen Dawson reported that last month’s fashion show raised $2,651.00.  She reported that the fashions left over from the show would be sold at future luncheons and Thursday workshops.


Membership Chair Diane VanderPol inducted new members:  Marie Coppola sponsored by Carol McKenna and Julie Palhof sponsored by Lori Kollmeyer and Nina Lammert.


Nominating Committee Chair Barbara Platner reported on the following slate of officers for the 2017-2018 season:

President – Georgette Kauhane

First Vice President – Sue Franklin

Recording Secretary – Chris Mielke

Corresponding Secretary – Maura DeReuil

Treasurer – Marie Reid

Past President – Joan Reilly


Cathy Breeze moved “to accept the slate of officers”. The motion was adopted.


Member Handbook Cover Competition – Joan Reilly requested that members submit to her prospective illustrations to be considered for next season’s handbook cover. All entries need to be sent or given to her by July.  The 2017-2018 member handbook cover would be chosen from one of the entries.  Joan introduced Kathy Ammendolia, one of our former member book illustrators.


The Tipsy Bunny Basket was won by Caroll Oliver.

The Jelly Bean Guessing Game $50.00 Publix gift card was won by Janet Hays.


11:56 a.m. adjourned for lunch.


Lori Kollmeyer introduced speaker, Dr. Edwin Riley who presented a program about stress reduction.


Meeting adjourned at 1:53 p.m.

Eileen Dawson, Recording Secretary